Book Reviews

She Who Became the Sun by Shelley Parker-Chan

Genre | Fantasy Page #s | 416Publishing Date | July 2021 Mulan meets The Song of Achilles; an accomplished, poetic debut of war and destiny, sweeping across an epic alternate China. “I refuse to be nothing…” In a famine-stricken village on a dusty yellow plain, two children are given two fates. A boy, greatness. A girl, nothingness…Continue Reading

LGBTQ Book Review

She Drives Me Crazy by Kelly Quindlen

Genre | YA contemporary fiction Page #s | 288Publishing Date | April 2021 High school nemeses fall in love in this queer YA rom com perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Casey McQuiston. After losing spectacularly to her ex-girlfriend in their first game since their break up, Scottie Zajac gets into a fender bender with theContinue Reading

LGBTQ Book Review

The Thousand Eyes by A.K. Larkwood

Genre | Fantasy Page #s | 385Publishing Date | February 2022 The sequel to A. K. Larkwood’s stunning debut fantasy, The Unspoken Name, The Thousand Eyes continues The Serpent Gates series–perfect for fans of Jenn Lyons, Joe Abercrombie, and Ursula K. Le Guin. Two years ago, Csorwe and Shuthmili defied the wizard Belthandros Sethennai and stole his gauntlets.Continue Reading

Dear Senthuran: A Black Spirit Memoir by Akwaeke Emezi

Genre | Memoir Page #s | 240Publishing Date | June 2021 In three critically acclaimed novels, Akwaeke Emezi has introduced readers to a landscape marked by familial tensions, Igbo belief systems, and a boundless search for what it means to be free. Now, in this extraordinary memoir, the bestselling author of The Death of Vivek Oji revealsContinue Reading

Thirsty Mermaids by Kat Leyh

Genre | Fantasy Graphic Novel Page #s | 256Publishing Date | February 2021 Fresh out of shipwreck wine, three tipsy mermaids—Pearl, Tooth, and Eez—hit on the idea of magically masquerading as humans and sneaking onto land to indulge in much more drinking and a whole lot of fun right in the heart of a localContinue Reading

LGBTQ Book Review

The Passing Playbook by Isaac Fitzsimons

Genre | YA Contemporary Fiction Page #s | 304Publishing Date | June 2021 Fifteen-year-old Spencer Harris is a proud nerd, an awesome big brother and a Messi-in-training. He’s also transgender. After transitioning at his old school leads to a year of bullying, Spencer gets a fresh start at Oakley, the most liberal private school inContinue Reading

LGBTQ Book Review

With Teeth by Kristen Arnett

Genre | Contemporary Fiction Page #s | 304Publishing Date | June 2021 From the author of the New York Times-bestselling sensation Mostly Dead Things a surprising and moving story of two mothers, one difficult son, and the limitations of marriage, parenthood, and love If she’s being honest, Sammie Lucas is scared of her son. WorkingContinue Reading

Loveless by Alice Oseman

Genre | YA Contemporary Fiction Page #s | 433Publishing Date | July 2020 The fourth novel from the phenomenally talented Alice Oseman – one of the most authentic and talked-about voices in contemporary YA. It was all sinking in. I’d never had a crush on anyone. No boys, no girls, not a single person IContinue Reading

Loading…

Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.

Roar Cat Reads is a community based in Vancouver and beyond that connects, entertains, and celebrates all things queer and nerdy.

First time to the site? Learn about us or start with our most popular blog posts.

Subscribe to My Blog

Get new content delivered directly to your inbox.

Sign up for our monthly newsletter

One subscriber each month will win a prize!

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.

By clicking submit, you agree to share your email address with the site owner and Mailchimp to receive emails from the site owner. Use the unsubscribe link in those emails to opt out at any time.